blogger · travel

Desert girl on the “other side” / Sonorense en el “otro lado”

Its been five months since my husband and i move to the U.S., and been a girl from a small town does not help me trough my transition to a big city. Let me tell you about my adventures of being a small town girl and never even lived in a city before. Oh and i should mention that this is my first time been aboard in my life!

It all started when we have the great idea of moving to the US just two weeks before the wedding(which was in November), so every single life plan we have it totally changed. The next two days after the wedding we pack (not fun btw) and then we were ready to leave for our honeymoon and after that we were living in a different country with a different culture and different language.

1.- Food:

Like a real mexican i need my food with my tortillas, and i’m from the north of mexico so that means i need  my FLOUR tortillas and my “carne asada”, which are really hard to fnd here, and the ones i can get does not taste the same obviusly. I’m not a fan of fast food, so i prefer to cook most of the time, and i get all my favorite cooking ingredients imported from mexico so it would taste like home.

The great advantage that i find here is that been a globalized country like it is you could find any kind of foreign food that you could ever imagin; just name a country and i asure you you would fing if you are brave enough to try.

2.- Alcohol and Partying:

Oh the life in the “mormon state” it doesn’t help to party at all!. Maybe i’m not looking enough for cool places, and apparently it was worst just a few years ago, now i guess they are more “liberal” or so. Or maybe i’m just used to my town where no one cares if you are still partying at 5am(well my mom cared), but really the times we went out here to one club at downtown the party ended at 1am(in my old town the party stats at 1am) so i was just suprised it was that early, well you could always have and after at a friends place.

Another thing i wasn’t used to was to been asked for my ID all the time whe i want to drink; if i buying a six pack at walmart they asked for my ID, if i’m having a sangria with my meal at a restaurant, and the obvius if i’m getting at a club, wich is always super rare for me and it make me feel younger, which is not a bad thing i may say. And i was used to buy wine at walmart, but apperently here in Utah you only could buy liquor at the liquor store, which its super freaking far from my home.

ps. I don’t like the american beer so much, i prefer way more my mexican beer.

3.- Weathear:

 It’s freking freezing here! Maybe i exageraded but come on men! i’m from the desert the sonoran desert so excuse me if i wasn’t very happy by all the bad weather that i feel for almost four months in a row. Deffinetly it wasn’t the best idea of moving here in the winter in the first place.

But besides all the cold i feelt for the past 4 months the most beautiful thing in the real happend to me: I had a WHITE CHRISTMAS!!! i swear i was super amaizing been there with all my husband family having christmas dinner when of nowhere it star snowing IT WAS MAGICAL!

I must admit that i really enjoyed all the winter outdoors activities, like snowboarding was the most extreme experience ever, i’m super proud of myself it was awesome super fun super cold and super extreme, i totally recomend it. A clasic of winter season sledding; i love it super fun too. Although  i miss my sun, which i aperently it never comes out here in winter, or at least is how i felt it all winter long, and i miss the beach the sand, the boat rides, the beautiful sunsets. But i really like it here its super cool right now with all the flowers and threes coming to life.

Despite all the cold, the cultural differences, the landscape contrast and the language, i love it here; the mountains have take my hearth away, i love that every day i see something new i learn something new, i meet so many different people, it’s amazing, so the only thing i have to do here is enjoy the ride while it last and make my time here the most so i could have the best memories for life.

Thank you for reading me, sorry por the bad spelling and have a good day.

bye

Crisbel

//

Han transcurrido cinco meses desde que mi esposo(si ya me les case y no avise!)  y yo decidimos mudarnos a E.U, dejenme contarles mis desdichas de ser una chica de rancho y nunca haber vivido antes en ciudad. Oh y que no se me olvide mencionar que nunca habia cruzado la frontera en mi vida!.

Para empezar tuvimos la grandiosa idea de mudarnos justo dos semanas antes de la boda, asi que todas las ideas y planes que teniamos sobre nuestra futura casita y proyectos laborales cambiaron radicalmente. Empacamos en dos dias( los dos dias siguientes de la boda, not fun btw) y nos fuimos de luna de miel a California: Disneyland, California Adventure y Universal Studios Hollywood y puntos intermedios (si somos unos ñoños).

El punto es que donde mi esposo tiene su jale(les dije que era de rancho) es en el estado de Utah, y hay unos puntos que considero importantes compartir acerca del pintoresco lugar.

1.- Comida:

Como buena sonorense que soy mi vida no seria la misma sin tortillas de harina y carne asada, mala noticia para mi es no poder encontrar tortillas decentes de este lado del hemisferio, por casualidad me tope con unas tortillas de “harina de trigo” que no estan tan malas, pero como que les falta manteca, no se. Otra la carne la tengo que comprar importada de mexico porque de plano la carne gringa nomas no, y la verdad no soy muy fan de la comida rapida, siento que le ponen hormonas a todo, y como ni hago ejercicio para que le buscamos.

Ventaja que tiene el lugar es por ser un pais muy globalizado me topo con restaurants y puestos de comida de todas partes del mundo, enserio no saben que delicia, usted nomas diga un pais y aca le aseguro que hay donde “probar”.

2.-Alcohol:

Vivir en el estado “mormon” no ayuda a poder salir de pachanga, sera que me mal acostumbre a mi rancho donde el party inicia a la 1am? Los antros cierran a la 1am y ya te estan corriendo a las 12:30am ventaja que encontre fue una carreta de tacos fuera del antro donde hemos salido y que no vivimos tan lejos del centro donde esta todo lo divertido.

Ademas me hacen sentir chamaca cada vez que me piden mi credencial y no me creen que ya soy mayor de edad. Por ley tienen que solicitarle a las personas su credencial oficial, en cualquier lugar que venden alcohol; eso si liquor solo en las “liquorerias” valga la redundancia, todo el demas alcohol que compres en algun abarrotes o walmart tiene por ley menos cantidad de alcohol por ml; osea si mi tecate roja, por decir, en mexico tiene 4.5% por botella, aca solo tiene cuanto mucho 3%. No se que pensar, por mi cabeza no cabe que no puedo ir a comprar vino a la tiendita de la esquina, sino manejar no se que tanto hasta la liquoreria.

pd. Igual la cerveza gringa saber re gacho.

3.- Clima:

Reconozco que no fue la mejor estacion del año para mudarnos a un lugar donde neva en invierno; no podia creer que mi cuerpo no muriera de frio a -19 C!. Salt Lake City es la capital de Utah y esta rodeada de montañas, osea que el sol tarda mas en salir y se mete super temprano, y mas en invierno, agregandole las nevadas y tormentas, lo que hace que casi nunca salga completamente.

Pero sin duda lo mejor de este lugar y de su clima tan pinchi frio es haber tenido por primera vez una “blanca Navidad” es de verdad lo mas hermoso que he visto; estar con la familia de mi esposo en nochebuena y salir todos porque esta nevando y ya es navidad hizo que todo mi odio hacia la nieve y el frio se fuera.

Aunque yo soy del desierto y obviamente no estoy acostumbrada al frio me encanto el invierno por todas sus actividades al aire libre en nieve; ir a las montañas a snowboarding es hasta la fecha lo mas extremo que he hecho en mi vida, y sin ningun hueso roto para mi es un logro total, pasear en trineo, deslizarnos en la nieve, super recomendado! Eso si extraño mi solesito, mi playa, la arena, pasear en barco y el calor de mi rancho.

 

A pesar de tanto contraste en cultura y paisaje, no voy a mentir las montañas han robado mi corazon por completo, y no solo eso desde que me mude he visto tantos lugares, tantas personas tan diferentes, y cada dia es un dia de aprender cosas nuevas, de experimentar cosas nuevas y solo me queda disfrutar mi viaje mientras dure y hacer lo mejor con mi tiempo para poder tener los mejores recuerdos de este maravilloso lugar.

Gracias por leerme, disculpen la ortografia ando muy YOLO pues.

Bye

Crisbel

 

 

_DSC0060_DSC0041_DSC0057DSC_0100DSC_0148DSC_0104DSC_0137DSC_0044DSC_0359

IMG_5646

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

DWYW0836IMG_5921IMG_5964

 

please leavea comment / Dejame tus comentarios

